Kue Bugis

My mum asked me to buy some snacks for her arisan gathering, and I bought one for myself. Kue Bugis is one of Indonesian traditional cake, which adds to the entry I posted earlier on Indonesian Traditional Cake. I picked this cake because it looks cute, and I had never tried it before. The cake is wrapped in banana leaf in the shape of cone, which looks like a mini version of Caffe The Tha’s Nasi Gurih.

20140902_112713

I thought the cake was in shape of cone, but turned out that the cake is round. 20140902_112750

Kue Bugis is made of glutinous rice flour and filled with coconut flakes that has been mixed with palm sugar.

20140902_112851

This cake reminds me of another Indonesian traditional cake that looks like an ice cream cone called Clorot, which is hard to find. I went to Pasar Puri last week with Riri, but we didn’t find it. When I was a kid, my mum used to buy it from the wet market every Sunday morning. It’s fun to eat Clorot; you have to carefully unwrap the swirled coconut leaf (daun kelapa / janur). tumblr_mtetp62OT51qbjd7uo1_500

Leave a comment